Elements of Our Faith

 Liturgical Colors and Seasons

It’s important to know that the church has seasons just like our annual seasons. The Church divides the Liturgical Year into six seasons: Advent, Christmas, Lent, Sacred Paschal Triduum, Easter, and Ordinary Time. The seasons are represented by colors on the priest’s chasuble, in decorations in the church, and on the altar. They are called “Liturgical Colors.” We can also learn the names of the Liturgical Seasons for each color.